Back to the calendar
Jun
16
Sarah James and Julia Bryan Thomas

Sarah James discusses The Woman With Two Shadows

Click here to order!

Julia Bryan Thomas discusses For Those Who are Lost

Click here to order!

 

Sarah James. The Woman with Two Shadows (Sourcebooks, $16.99 - unsigned).

"A riveting tale about a town and its people that officially never existed and the secrecy behind one of the Manhattan Project's top-secret cities!" —Kim Michele Richardson, New York Times bestselling author of The Book Woman's Daughter

 

For fans of Atomic City Girls and The Secrets We Kept, a fascinating historical debut of one of the most closely held secrets of World War II and a woman caught up in it when she follows her missing sister to the mysterious city of Oak Ridge, Tennessee.

 

Lillian Kaufman hasn't heard from her twin sister since Eleanor left for a mysterious job at an Army base somewhere in Tennessee. When she learns, on an unexpected phone call, that Eleanor is missing, Lillian takes a train from New York down to Oak Ridge to clear up the matter.

 

It turns out that the only way into Oak Ridge is to assume Eleanor's identity, which Lillian plans to do swiftly and perfectly. But Eleanor has vanished without a trace—and she's not the only one. And how do you find someone in a town so dangerous it doesn't officially exist, when technically you don't exist either?

 

Lillian is thrust into the epicenter of the gravest scientific undertaking of all time, with no idea who she can trust. And the more she pretends to be Eleanor, the more she loses her grip on herself.

 

Julia Bryan Thomas. For Those Who Are Lost (Poisoned Pen Press/ Sourcebooks, $16.99).

"For Those Who Are Lost is riddled with secrets and sins for the sake of survival . . . a poignant and compelling read." —Leah Weiss, bestselling author of If The Creek Don't Rise and All the Little Hopes

 

Inspired by true events, For Those Who Are Lost begins on the eve of the Nazi invasion of the island of Guernsey, when terrified parents have a choice to make: send their children alone to England, or keep the family together and risk whatever may come to their villages.

 

Ava and Joseph Simon reluctantly put their 9-year-old son, Henry, and four-year-old daughter, Catherine, in the care of their son's teacher, who will escort them on a boat to mainland England. Just as the ferry is about to leave, the teacher's sister, Lily appears. The two trade places: Helen doesn't want to leave Guernsey, and Lily is desperate for a fresh start.

 

Lily is the one who accompanies the children to England, and Lily is the one who lets Henry get on a train by himself, deciding in a split second to take Catherine with her and walk the other way. That split-second decision lingers long after the war ends, impacting the rest of their lives.

 

Perfect for readers of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society, For Those Who Are Lost is at once heartbreaking, thought-provoking, and uplifting.

 

 

Date
June 16
Time
5:00pm - 6:00pm
Online
This is an online event at Facebook Live and Youtube Live Go to event website
Categories